Faculty researching Cell Biology

  • Caroline Alexander

    Alexander, Caroline

    alexander@oncology.wisc.edu
    608-265-5182
    819a McArdle Lab

    Oncology

    Analysis of breast development, signaling and disease

  • Philip Anderson

    Anderson, Philip

    andersn@wisc.edu
    608-263-8429
    4302A Genetics/Biotech

    Genetics

    Molecular genetics of C. elegans 

  • Jean-Michel Ane

    Ané, Jean-Michel

    jeanmichel.ane@wisc.edu
    608-262-6457
    348 Horticulture-Moore Hall-Plant Sciences

    Bacteriology/Agronomy

    Our lab studies symbiotic associations between plants and microbes (bacteria and fungi) using genetic, molecular, and biochemical approaches.

  • Alan Attie

    Attie, Alan

    attie@biochem.wisc.edu
    608-262-1372
    534A Biochemistry Addn

    Biochemistry

    Genetics of type 2 diabetes and related metabolic diseases.

  • Anjon Audhya

    Audhya, Anjon

    audhya@wisc.edu
    608-262-3761
    5214A Biochemical Sciences Bldg

    Biomolecular Chemistry

    Regulation of vesicle biogenesis and membrane transport during development

  • Arash Bashirullah

    Bashirullah, Arash

    bashirullah@wisc.edu
    608-890-1851
    5123 Rennebohm Hall

    Pharmacy

    Regulation of tissue remodeling during post-embryonic development

  • Barak BLum

    Blum, Barak

    bblum4@wisc.edu
    (608) 265-5211
    1111 Highland Ave (WIMR II), Room 4551

    Cell and Regenerative Biology (CRB)

    Regulation of terminal differentiation and functional maturation of stem and progenitor cells, regenerative biology of the endocrine pancreas, genetics of type-1 and type-2 diabetes

  • Chang Hao

    Chang, Hao

    hchang@dermatology.wisc.edu
    MSC, Room 417

    Planar cell polarity in mammalian skin development and cancer

  • Nansi Colley

    Colley, Nansi

    njcolley@wisc.edu
    608-265-5398
    K6/460 Clinical Sciences

    Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, Medical Genetics

    We study signaling and protein trafficking in the Drosophila eye and use Drosophila as a model to identify novel loci in human blinding diseases.

  • Elizabeth Craig

    Craig, Elizabeth

    ecraig@wisc.edu
    608-263-7105
    441E Biochemistry Addition

    Biochemistry

    Protein folding in the cell — the function of molecular chaperones in facilitating protein folding, remodeling of protein:protein complexes and protein translocation across membranes

  • David Eide

    Eide, David

    eide@nutrisci.wisc.edu
    608-263-1613
    340B Nutritional Sciences

    Nutritional Science

    We study mechanisms cells and organisms use to survive and thrive under nutrient-deficient conditions

  • Feyza Engin

    Engin, Feyza

    fengin@wisc.edu
    (608) 262-8667
    6260B Biochemical Sciences Building

    Biomolecular Chemistry

    Diabetes and metabolic disorders, organelle dysfunction, stress responses, beta cell biology.

  • Marcin Filutowicz

    Filutowicz, Marcin

    msfiluto@wisc.edu
    608-262-6947
    6305 Microbial Sciences Building

    Bacteriology

    Regulation of DNA replication and transcription 

  • Catherine Fox

    Fox, Catherine

    cfox@wisc.edu
    608-262-9370
    5204C Biochemical Sciences Bldg

    Biomolecular Chemistry

    Mechanisms required for genome duplication and stability in eukaryotic organisms

  • Barry Ganetzky

    Ganetzky, Barry

    ganetzky@wisc.edu
    608-263-2404
    4120 Genetics/Biotech

    Genetics and Medical Genetics

    Discovery and characterization of genetic and molecular mechanisms that underlie synaptic growth, maintenance, and repair.

  • Anne Griep

    Griep, Anne

    aegriep@wisc.edu
    608-262-8988
    353 Bardeen Labs

    Anatomy

    My laboratory's focus is development and disorders of the visual system using the mouse as the model system.

  • Mary Halloran

    Halloran, Mary

    mchalloran@wisc.edu
    608-263-7875
    307 Zoology Research

    Zoology

    Our research is aimed at understanding mechanisms controlling development of the nervous system.

  • Jeff Hardin

    Hardin, Jeff

    jdhardin@wisc.edu
    608-262-9634
    327 Zoology Research

    Zoology

    We use the C. elegans embryo as a model for investigating cell movement and cell adhesion during embryonic development; understanding how cells move, and how they make and break adhesions has important implications for understanding birth defects during human development and for understanding cancer progression.

  • Aaron Hoskins

    Hoskins, Aaron

    ahoskins@wisc.edu
    (608) 890-3101
    2214 Biochemical Sciences Building

    Biochemistry

    RNA splicing, gene expression, fluorescence microscopy, RNA/protein complexes, molecular mechanism, gene regulation, yeast genetics and biology

  • Zhen Huang

    Huang, Zhen

    z.huang@neurology.wisc.edu
    608-263-2469
    1111 Highland Avenue, 5453 WIMR II

    Neurology and Nueroscienc

    Neural stem cell regulation of brain vessel development
    Neuron and glial cell fate specification
    Cortical neuron migration, layer formation, and neuronal differentiation
    Heterotrimeric G protein signaling
    Germinal matrix hemorrhage
    Neuronal migration disorders 

  • Anna Huttenlocher Headshot

    Huttenlocher, Anna

    huttenlocher@wisc.edu
    (608) 265-4642
    4205 Microbial Sciences Building

    Pediatrics

    Cell migration
    Wound repair
    Inflammation

  • Akihiro Ikeda

    Ikeda, Akihiro

    aikeda@wisc.edu
    608-262-5477
    5322 Genetics/Biotech

    Medical Genetics

    Our laboratory aims to identify genes involved in aging, cell proliferation and neovascularization using mouse genetics as a tool.

  • Judith Kimble

    Kimble, Judith

    jekimble@wisc.edu
    608-262-6188
    341E Biochemistry Laboratories

    Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Medical Genetics

    Molecular regulation of germline self-renewal and differentiation in C. elegans

  • Dudley Lamming

    Lamming, Dudley

    dlamming@medicine.wisc.edu
    608-256-1901 x 12861
    WSM VA Hospital

    Medicine

    Biology of aging and age-related diseases, diabetes, cancer, Alzheimer’s disease

  • Robert Landick

    Landick, Robert

    landick@bact.wisc.edu
    608-265-8475
    5441 Microbial Sciences Building

    Biochemistry

    RNA polymerase structure/function; regulation of RNA chain elongation 

  • Patrick Masson

    Masson, Patrick

    phmasson@wisc.edu
    608-265-2312
    3262 Genetics/Biotech

    Genetics

    Genetics of Root Growth Behavior Using Arabidopsis thaliana as a Model System.

  • Phil Newmark

    Newmark, Phil

    pnewmark@morgridge.org
    (608) 316-4105
    Morgridge Institute for Research, 3266

    Zoology

    Germ cell development and regeneration in planarians; developmental biology of parasitic flatworms

  • Kate O'Connor-Giles

    O'Connor-Giles, Kate

    oconnorgiles@wisc.edu
    608-265-4813
    227D Bock Labs

    Genetics

    We are interested in understanding the genes and molecular mechanisms that regulate synapse formation and plasticity.

  • Marisa Otegui

    Otegui, Marisa

    otegui@wisc.edu
    608-265-5703
    B119 Birge Hall

    Botany and Genetics

    Cellular trafficking and signaling

  • Francisco Pelegri

    Pelegri, Francisco

    fjpelegri@wisc.edu
    608-265-9286
    2424 Genetics/Biotech

    Genetics and Medical Genetics

    Analysis of cellular and developmental mechanisms involved in the vertebrate egg-to-embryo transition and early cell fate specification

  • Ahna Skop

    Skop, Ahna

    skop@wisc.edu
    608-262-1593
    2426 Genetics/Biotech

    Genetics and Life Science Communications

    asymmetric cell division, cytokinesis, cell polarity & cell cycle genomics and proteomics

  • Xin Sun

    Sun, Xin

    xsun@wisc.edu
    608-265-5405
    5264 Genetics/Biotech

    Medical Genetics

    Genetics of Mammalian Development and Disease

  • Michael Taylor

    Taylor, Michael

    michael.taylor@wisc.edu
    777 Highland Ave.

    School of Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences Division

    Genetic dissection of blood-brain barrier development

  • Wassarman

    Wassarman, David

    dawassarman@wisc.edu
    608-262-6648
    4262 Genetics and Biotechnology Center

    Medical Genetics

    Mechanisms underlying neurodegeneration

  • Jill Wildonger

    Wildonger, Jill

    wildonger@wisc.edu
    608-890-4619
    2204 Biochemical Sciences Building

    Biochemistry

    How neuronal structure and function is shaped by the microtubule cytoskeleton and polarized transport

  • Jerry Yin

    Yin, Jerry

    jcyin@wisc.edu
    608-262-5014
    3434 Genetics/Biotech

    Genetics and Neurology

    We study how the cAMP/PKA/dCREB2 signaling pathway is involved in neuronal function (sleep and memory formation) and dysfunction (neurodegenerative diseases and developmental disabilities).

  • Jing Zhang

    Zhang, Jing

    Zhang@oncology.wisc.edu
    608-263-1147
    417A McArdle Laboratory

    Oncology

    We use genetically engineered mouse models to study normal and mutant hematopoietic stem cell functions.