Faculty studying computational, systems & synthetic biology

  • Reid Alisch

    Alisch, Reid

    alisch@wisc.edu
    (608) 262-8430
    6001 Research Park Blvd.

    Psychiatry

    The role of epigenetics in human health and disease processes, particularly in relation to the origins of mental illness.

  • Alan Attie

    Attie, Alan

    attie@biochem.wisc.edu
    608-262-1372
    534A Biochemistry Addn

    Biochemistry

    Genetics of type 2 diabetes and related metabolic diseases.

  • Karl Broman

    Broman, Karl

    kbroman@biostat.wisc.edu
    608-262-4633
    2126 Genetics-Biotechnology

    Biostatistics and Medical Informatics

    I work on statistical problems in genetics, genomics, and molecular biology, focusing particularly on characterizing of meiotic recombination and developing improved methods for detecting and identifying genes contributing to variation in complex traits in experimental organisms.

  • Timothy Donohue

    Donohue, Timothy

    tdonohue@bact.wisc.edu
    608-262-4663; 608-265-5224
    5166 Wisconsin Energy Institute

    Bacteriology

    Our laboratory analyzes pathways and networks that microbes use to grow, generate biomass, or produce alternative fuels from sunlight or other renewable sources of energy.

  • William Engels

    Engels, William

    wrengels@wisc.edu
    608-263-2213
    4106 Genetics/Biotech

    Genetics and Medical Genetics

    Transposons/DNA repair 

  • Audrey Gasch

    Gasch, Audrey

    agasch@wisc.edu
    608-265-0859
    3426 Genetics/Biotech

    Genetics

    Elucidating the role, regulation, and evolution of eukaryotic stress responses.

  • Chris Todd Hittinger

    Hittinger, Chris Todd

    cthittinger@wisc.edu
    4102 Genetics/Biotech

    Genetics

    We study the evolution of the gene networks that regulate yeast carbon metabolism, yeast biodiversity, and applications in the brewing and biofuel industries.

  • Judith Kimble

    Kimble, Judith

    jekimble@wisc.edu
    608-262-6188
    341E Biochemistry Laboratories

    Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Medical Genetics

    Molecular regulation of germline self-renewal and differentiation in C. elegans

  • Laurence Loewe

    Loewe, Laurence

    loewe@wisc.edu
    608-316-4324
    Wisconsin Institute for Discovery Room 3164, 330 N. Orchard Street

    Evolutionary systems biology, which bridges systems biology and population genetics with the help of computational modeling in diverse topics like circadian clocks, antibiotic resistance evolution, the population genetics of harmful mutations and species extinction.

  • Francisco Pelegri

    Pelegri, Francisco

    fjpelegri@wisc.edu
    608-265-9286
    2424 Genetics/Biotech

    Genetics and Medical Genetics

    Analysis of cellular and developmental mechanisms involved in the vertebrate egg-to-embryo transition and early cell fate specification

  • Caitlin Pepperell

    Pepperell, Caitlin

    cspepper@medicine.wisc.edu
    608-262-6167
    5301 Microbial Sciences Building

    Medicine

    Ecological and evolutionary interactions between humans and human pathogens.

  • Nicole Perna

    Perna, Nicole

    ntperna@wisc.edu
    608-890-0171
    4434 Genetics/Biotech

    Genetics

    We focus on systems-scale evolutionary genomics of agriculturally, biomedically and industrially significant bacteria.

  • John Pool

    Pool, John

    jpool@wisc.edu
    608-265-1036
    2434 Genetics/Biotechnology

    Genetics

    Population genomics and the genetic basis of adaptive evolution

  • Sushmita Roy

    Roy, Sushmita

    sroy@biostat.wisc.edu
    608-316-4453
    3168 Wisconsin Institutes for Discovery

    Biostatistics and Medical Informatics

    Machine learning methods to study the structure, function and evolution of regulatory networks and build predictive models.

  • David Schwartz

    Schwartz, David

    dcschwartz@wisc.edu
    608-265-0546
    5434 Genetics/Biotech

    Chemistry and Genetics

    Scalable discovery of human and cancer structural variation through invention and applications of single molecule systems.

  • zhong

    Zhong, Xuehua

    xzhong28@wisc.edu
    608-316-4421
    Wisconsin Institutes for Discovery, room 2114

    Genetics

    We are interested in understanding the fundamental mechanisms and biological roles of epigenetic modifications of DNA and histones underpinning various biological processes.