Genetics Staff

Genetics Leadership

Francisco Pelegri

Position title: Professor & Department Chair

Pronouns: he/him/his

Email: fjpelegri@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-6699

Address:
Genetics and Medical Genetics
Cellular and developmental mechanisms in the vertebrate egg-to-embryo transition, early cell fate specification

Nicole Perna

Position title: Professor & Graduate Program Director

Email: ntperna@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-890-0171

Address:
Genetics
Systems-scale evolutionary genomics of agriculturally, biomedically and industrially significant bacteria

Chris Todd Hittinger

Position title: Professor & Director, J.F. Crow Institute for the Study of Evolution

Email: cthittinger@wisc.edu

Address:
Genetics
Evolutionary genomics of yeast carbon metabolism with applications in brewing and bioenergy

Grants and Financial Services

Larry Van Natta

Position title: Financial Specialist

Email: lvannatta@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 261-1909

Address:
1420 Genetics Biotechnology Center

Hannah Kurer

Position title: Financial Specialist

Email: kurer@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-262-3345

Address:
1420 Genetics Biotechnology Center

Savannah Gentry

Position title: Research Administrator

Email: sgentry@wisc.edu

Address:
Room 1438
425 Henry Mall
Madison, WI 53706

Student Services and Advising

Carin Loewen, PhD

Position title: Instructional Faculty Associate: Teaching and Advising

Email: cloewen@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-265-1855

Address:
1426 Genetics Biotechnology Center

Kit Tilmann, PhD

Position title: Instructional Faculty Associate: Teaching and Advising

Email: cetilmann@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-263-7580

Address:
1428 Genetics Biotechnology Center

Katie Vermillion Kalmon, PhD

Position title: Director of Undergraduate Studies and Assistant Teaching Professor

Email: kvermillion@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-265-2865

Address:
1424 Genetics Biotechnology Center

Nick Zumwalde, PhD

Position title: Instructional Faculty Associate: Teaching and Advising

Email: nazumwalde@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-265-5405

Address:
1432 Genetics Biotechnology Center

Martha Reck

Position title: Graduate Program Manager

Email: mreck2@wisc.edu

Address:
1434 Genetics Biotechnology Center

Claire Minor

Position title: Academic Advisor for Genetics/Genomics

Email: cminor2@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-265-7882

Administration

Annie Anderson

Position title: Department Administrator & Assistant to the Chair

Pronouns: she/her/hers

Email: anne.anderson@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-262-3112

Address:
1440 Genetics Biotechnology Center

Nils Irland

Position title: IT Manager

Pronouns: he/him/his

Email: nirland@genetics.wisc.edu

Phone: 608-263-9898

Address:
3428 Genetics Biotechnology Center

Leo Barolo Gargiulo

Position title: Communications Specialist

Pronouns: he/him/his

Email: barologargiu@wisc.edu

Address:
1436 Genetics Biotechnology

Wayne Vander Ark

Position title: Facilities Manager

Email: wayne.vanderark@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-265-9827

Address:
B1322 Genetics Biotechnology Center